Sunday, November 13, 2011

My Week in Books (56)

Credit for IMM goes to The Story Siren
-----------------------------------------------

If you haven't already, please check out this week's PICK IT FOR ME post!
The theme for this week is steampunk! 

Books received for review

THE WAY WE FALL
(Series #1)
by Megan Crewe
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Source: Blogger trade
To be released: January 24, 2012

It starts with an itch you just can't shake. Then comes a fever and a tickle in your throad. A few days later, you'll be blabbing your secrets and chatting with strangers like they're old friends. Three more, and the paranoid hallucinations kick in.

AND THEN YOU'RE DEAD.

When sixteen-year-old Kaelyn lets her best friend leave for school without saying good-bye, she never dreams she might not ever see him again. But then a strange virus begins to sweep through her small island community. As patients start dying, the government quarantines the island: no one can leave, and no one can come back.

Those still healthy must fight for the town's dwindling supplies or risk losing any chance of survival. While everything familiar is crashing down, Kaelyn discovers a friend in a girl she once saw as a rival, and a chance at love with a boy she thought was an enemy. But as the body count continues to rise and the virus touches those she holds dearest, it's harder and harder to keep panic at bay. Soon Kaelyn finds herself challenging not just her fears, but her sense of what makes life worth living.

The heart-wrenching story of one girl's stand for hope and survival, The Way We Fall will leave readers fervently awaiting the next book in this standout new series.

UNDER THE NEVER SKY
by Veronica Rossi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Blogger trade
To be released: January 3, 2012

For readers who loved GRACELING and THE HUNGER GAMES comes a startling new world and a breathtaking, unforgettable love.

Exiled from her comfortable home, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland - called the Death Shop - are slim. Violent energy storms scan strike suddenly, and even the very air she breathes might kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He's wild, dangerous - a savage. He's also her only hope.

Because Aria alone holds the key to his redemption. Perry needs her, too. Their unlikely alliance will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

Books bought

The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Fire and Thorns #1) Fire (The Seven Kingdoms, #2) Reckoning (Strange Angels, #5)

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Fire by Kristin Cashore :)
Reckoning by Lili St. Crow

Pre-order arrivals

Unison Spark

Unison Spark by Andy Marino

What I read this week

Divergent (Divergent, #1) Tighter

Divergent by Veronica Roth
Tighter by Adele Griffin

 I also read a bunch of picture books from a set that I can't find on Goodreads. I really needed something quick and easy this week, and these were all pretty darn cute! 
Four Dogs and a Truck by Wendy Straw
Humpty Dumpty and Friends by Wendy Straw
I'm a Little Teapot by Wendy Straw
If You're Happy and You Know It by Wendy Straw
The Little Engine That Could by Wendy Straw
Old King Cole and Friends by Wendy Straw
Peter, Peter, Pumpkin Eater and Friends by Wendy Straw
Teddy Bear, Teddy Bear by Wendy Straw
There Were 10 in the Bed by Wendy Straw
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star by Wendy Straw

Books I started but haven't finished (yet!)

Frost (Stork, #2) Frost The Way We Fall

Frost by Wendy Delsol
Frost by Marianna Baer
The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

8 comments:

  1. If Under the Never Sky is like The Hunger Games I will need to give it a read. I hope you enjoy your haul this week.

    Check out my IMM here.

    Emma @ LostinaYAbook

    ReplyDelete
  2. :) You got some great books this week. Hope you enjoy!

    http://brunettelibrarian.blogspot.com/

    ReplyDelete
  3. Aaaaaaaaaa I also bought Fire this week! :) Also Graceling :P :) Can't wait to read it! :)

    nice pick of books! :)
    Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I too got Under the Never Sky! \o/ And yay on Divergent--loved that one. Also cannot wait to read Frost. o: Enjoy!

    My IMM!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have Under the Never Sky too! I need to read it, like, yesterday. :) And Fire! I LOVE Fire! I hope you do too!

    My IMM!

    -Rachel @ Paper Cuts

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great set! I really liked Girl of Fire and Thorns. I've heard great things about Rossi's book.
    Enjoy!
    My IMM

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just finished Under the Never Sky. It was pretty good. A bit confusing though. More Sci-Fi than I expected.

    Giselle
    Xpresso Reads

    ReplyDelete
  8. I loved Divergent. Can't wait for the new one.

    ReplyDelete